Mount TBR: Checkpoint #3

Mount TBR 2016

As per Bev’s instructions, here is my check-in information so far.

  1. How high have you climbed?

Well, things have slowed down a bit since finishing the sabbatical and the Golden Age Mystery challenge, but I’m at 71 read out of my goal of 75 TBR books, so almost to Mt. Toro. I’ll still shoot for 100 and Mt. Everest but need to get climbing.

2. Complete ONE (or more if you like) of the following:

 C. Which book (read so far) has been on your TBR mountain the longest? Was it worth the wait? Or is it possible you should have tackled it back when you first put it on the pile? Or tossed it off the edge without reading it all?
I suppose Ellery Queen’s Blow Hot, Blow Cold has been in my pile since the late 1980s, though some of the Agatha Christies have also been around for that long. I am less motivated to read non-series titles, so some other Ellery Queens have been on my shelf since the early 1980s. Even as a kid, I could tell that those late Queens did not fit with the rest of his work, long before the internet and the identification of various ghostwriters. This one, written by Fletcher Flora, was ok, but not a Queen classic. Still, it is good to get it off the shelf.
One thought on “Mount TBR: Checkpoint #3

  1. Thanks for checking in! I read the Ellery Queen book back before blogging and doing real reviews of what I read–I do remember being less impressed with it than other Queen novels I’d read before then (and didn’t realize at that time that there were ghost writers involved…).

    Like

Leave a Reply

