Leslie Charteris – The Saint Around the World (1956)

permaM3103

Golden Age
Category: Short Stories
Date Finished: March 25, 2015

I read most of the Saint stories long ago, before I watched all of the TV episodes. I had a certain picture of Simon Templar in my head that did not really fit with Roger Moore or George Sanders. Reading these short stories, I couldn’t get the TV version out of my mind. Three of these six short stories were adapted for the series, including the Reluctant Nudist, though the nudity must have been removed or I would have remembered it better. As Charteris liked to do in the 1950s, Templar moves from exotic location to exotic location, being a good guy and saving the damsel. The rascally nature and questionable ethics of the 1930s is long gone, however.

Leave a Reply

